Anyone try one of the Brownells Aluma-Hyde II Parkerizing paint?

mike400

There is a matte dark parkerizing grey color and a matte parkerizing grey. Just curious if someone has tried these with the group/vector receivers. How hid it look? Close? I have used the Aluma-Hyde II, just no those colors.

cvasqu03

UZI Talk Supporter
I have no experience with Group/Vector receivers, but I did use the grey parkerizing spray on an unfinished NodakSpud receiver that I used to (try to) run with an IMI 45 conversion. I used the spray to finish the receiver then I also painted a blued trigger group and factory top cover to match (I didn't have sandblasting equipment back then to strip these first). The end result was pretty dramatic and actually looked beautiful after I finished off the project with a set of grey grips and handguards I got from a good friend. A few people I showed it to initially assumed it had really been parkerized. The finish was pretty resilient too, but after a few years, it did develop a few thin spots, though not on the receiver which probably shows that preparation is important before using the paint. The few parts that I left in black also made a nice contrast with the rest of the rifle. I tried to sell it here a few years ago when I was unemployed but got no takers so I finally ended up selling just the bolt and barrel which were original IMI.

This picture is probably the best one to see the contrast. It's where I messed up trying to paint the S on the trigger group (had to go back and fix it). Bear in mind, the handguards and grips are solid gray. The trigger, selector, cross-pin are all black (blued).

SAM_2512-2.JPG

This is what the topcover looked like after a few years of use. If I was doing it all over again, I'd probably sandblast the whole thing first and then spray the Alumahyde on clean metal.

SAM_2513-2.JPG