UZI Talk Forums
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: sterling 9mm, "WARNING"

UZI Talk Supporter

Red face sterling 9mm, "WARNING"

Toke my new WLA sterling to range today, fired 250 rounds winchester WB...no problem!
    The minute i started shooting sellier & bellet 9mm ball....50 rounds later my firing pin breaks!!!!...

Looks like s&b 9mm is know for having hard primers!!!!! Dont shoot s&b in your semi auto sterling!!!! I got lucky the shop i bought my sterling swamp me a firing pin from another gun!!! :0)
    ME!

UZI Talk Supporter

pic

Pic
    Attached Images  
    ME!

i guess it would be a good idea to keep a spare...i hope the WLA and the colefire are the same...gary

UZI Talk Life Member

Give WLA a call. I bet they will replace it.

UZI Talk Supporter

Cool update

Called century and wise lite...on firing pin issue...century reffered me to wise lite..wiselite says....there out of firing pins till next month....im gonna try to buy one or two spares, depending on price?
    ME!

UZI Talk Life Member
    I hate to have to say it, but I don't think S&B primers are your problem. That is unless they started using granite for their primers.

UZI Talk Supporter
    well, theres alot of talk online about sellier and bellot having hard primers!!! its funny that winchester wb, 250 rounds no problem, i shoot about 35-45 rounds of sb 115 grn, and pin broke!!! ill find out when i shot her again, with wb...well see!!!!!
    ME!

UZI Talk Life Member
    You're pulling my leg, right? A thin copper or brass cup broke a steel firing pin?

A thread from right here on UZI Talk in this forum.

Need a Wiselite Sterling Sporter firing pin

J&G Sales review.

http://www.jgsales.com/product_revie...ws_id/4754?SID

http://www.jgsales.com/product_revie...eviews_id/3669

They mention possible brittle firing pins in this thread.

http://www.ar15.com/lite/topic.html?b=6&f=48&t=320619

From TheHighRoad.org

Almost at the bottom look for a post from ziggymolly