UZI Talk Forums
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Ak suggestion

UZI Talk Supporter

Ak suggestion

A friend of mine asked me about buying an ak and they’ve never been my thing. So thought I’d ask here on what’s a good budget friendly ak so he can get pointed in the right direction. He’s looking for a shooter not a showpiece. He was open to an ar in 7.62x39 when told they exist, but again no experience with that clambering in ar’s either so wasn’t much help to him. Thanks
    God, Family, Guns.....Life is Good! ROMANS 10:9-10

I'm no expert but: WASR's seem to have a good reputation as of late. I bought mine back in the "hit or miss" days and got lucky. A lot of people go crazy for the old imported chinese rifles, they can sometimes be found at a decent deal. And my last suggestion would be a Yugo. They aren't your "standard" AK in some ways, but I don't recall hearing too many complaints about them.
    There's dozens of companies making "homebrew" AK's too, that are probably worth looking at. A lot of people use to buy a basic Saiga x39 and morph it into whatever AK variant they liked the best. Although I don't think it's as easy as it once was to find a plain Saiga for cheap.

Anything but an I.O.

UZI Talk Supporter

MAK90.

the romanian SAR series is a good start.

Imop right now https://www.atlanticfirearms.com/com....html?Itemid=0

Yes it cost more then the other people ..But they are very good people to buy from and some of the best AK dealers out there

Also if this helps ( I love AK and have used a lot from pre 89 to pre 94 to pre 97 etc )

1. Any thing made by Century run ..They use crap parts..They look pretty but will blow apart on you ..RAS etc are bad ..C39 maybe maybe half ok but for the money you can get a SLR95 a much better milled gun ..And most C39 only make it 2-3k at most
    2. Any thing made by IO either plant ( FL or NC ) ..They are very very very bad guns ...Again blow apart guns