UZI Talk Forums
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Form 4 to dealer and shipping question

UZI Talk Life Member

Form 4 to dealer and shipping question

I'm in the process of selling / transferring a MG to an out of state buyer.

I've never done this before so I'm wondering:

a) how long is it taking for approvals of a Form 4 transfer from a non-Licensee to a Licensee?

b) if you are a non-Licensee and you've done this fairly recently, what shipper did you use to get the MG to the transferee's FFL? I'm not sure Fedex or UPS will ship for non-licensees any more and the USPS is an option but frightening to consider (and I don't think the qualify for transport insurance embedded in my Collectinsure policy).

I don't think efile is an option for the first transfer (I'm a Trust) but correct me if I'm wrong.
    My name is actually Scott and I really do live in Texas.

I know, not very creative but it is factual.

By the way - Facebook is truly evil; resist the urge to participate.

UZI Talk Supporter

Fed ex will ship a gun
    I use my local gun dealer to ship. $25 handguns and $45 rifles. I’ve got firearms insurance and use fed ex only

I’d expect 2-3 months for approval to a dealer.

UZI Talk Life Member

Quote Originally Posted by Battering ram NIB View Post
    Fed ex will ship a gun
    I use my local gun dealer to ship. $25 handguns and $45 rifles. I’ve got firearms insurance and use fed ex only

I’d expect 2-3 months for approval to a dealer.
    Do you take the machine gun to a regional Fedex counter? Use your Fedex account? Do you have to notify them that it is a firearm / MG?

I ask as my local Fedex-owned facility will not accept firearms from an individual. I think they are 100% wrong but I've fought that battle twice and lost twice.

I just went through this myself. UPS and FED Ex do not ship machine guns so you are left with USPS.