UZI Talk Forums
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: FTF Open Bolt Reweld

FTF Open Bolt Reweld

First off, this is the most informative forum I have stumbled across, so it goes without saying that after scratching my head for a while at my current problem, I'd post here and look for assistance.

I have completed an open bolt postie using a repair section and a parts kit. I am also using an SMG feed ramp. Though I am not a welder by trade, I am confident in my TIG welding abilities. After assembling for this first time, I noticed the bolt seemed to be rubbing significantly on the top cover. I reviewed the maintenance guide and using feeler gauges, got the top cover back into spec. With that out of the way, it seemed the bolt would go home and close with plenty of force. Inserting the magazine, not so much. I adjusted the magazine catch slightly which was a significant improvement. Using dummy rounds, they seated just fine. I inserted a magazine with live ammo which would chamber but not fire. Light primer strikes, if any at all were occurring.

Leaving a round CHAMBERED with the magazine OUT firing from open bolt is successful every time.

I'm not really sure what this can be attributed to at this point. It almost seems as if the bolt is not under enough tension with loading a round being a friction point. I began to think maybe to just try a new recoil spring, but am not sure to what extent that would help.

I'm hopeful that one of the many experts come upon my plea for assistance, and would appreciate any input in the diagnosis.

Thank you!

UZI Talk Supporter
    Welcome!
    Try a different Mag before any modifications

UZI Talk Supporter

Take the recoil spring out, re-assemble, tip to and fro while holding the trigger and grip safety. If the bolt does not slide full to and fro with the tiling due to gravity then that drag is your problem. Do it wilh empty magazine in, if draggy that is your problem.