UZI Talk Forums
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations for Chronographs requested

UZI Talk Life Member

Recommendations for Chronographs requested

I guess it's time I had a chronograph and am looking for recommendations for good ones and / or warnings for ones to avoid.

I really see no reason to spend more than $200 on one of these.

Suggestions?
    My name is actually Scott and I really do live in Texas.

I know, not very creative but it is factual.

By the way - Facebook is truly evil; resist the urge to participate.

UZI Talk Supporter
    I have no 1st hand experience with them but this might help you Scott

https://www.watchtime.com/featured/b...hings-to-know/

Quote Originally Posted by Gaffshot View Post
    Not to jack Scott's post... so to get the ROF/Rounds Per Minute for SMG fire... you must have that Sky Screen set up? Like Scott alluded to... that $200... PACT IV thing... can't do it by itself? = needs that Sky Screen thing? Also... the PACT IV (?) is only good for 600 RPM data... ? I'm confused about all this and the internet just don't have a lot of info. about this? Again, just to get a SMG firing rate data... Thanks!

UZI Talk Life Member

I'm not looking for a fine watch...but something that tells me what my bullet speed is.

There are barrel mounted units that are appealing but aren't usable with handguns.

Reviews for these things tend to be positive but about 5-10% say 'this thing is junk and I had to trash it after 2 weeks etc. etc.'.

So far I'm leaning toward the Competition Electronics unit...thanks for that.

I would recommend this one. Easy setup and you can use it in adverse lighting conditions.

https://www.opticsplanet.com/caldwel...g2-720002.html

Given that accidents do happen, you want one with as little downrange equipment as possible. Screens are cheap to replace, the electronic package is not
    I like Shooting Chrony but I understand the company is no longer in business