22lr conversion for max-11/15?

ScubaLoser

Hey everyone, the new guy around here, so I was wondering has anyone put any thought or effort in converting the max11/15 to run a dedicated 22lr barrel and BCG?

https://www.righttobear.com/rtb-dedicated-22-bolt-and-3-mag-kit-25-round/

RTB makes a barrel and BCG that doesn’t use a gas system or recoil spring from an AR platform, and is direct blowback like any typical semi auto pistol. I wonder how hard it would be to create a BCG that could operate in it. I have no design experience except limited amateur rendering for my 3d printer.

RevolverJockey

I guess the big question is why spend $3,000+ on an 11/15 upper then not use the best parts of it. Plus, though the price has gone up, .22 Fleming and Lage kits are available on the used market. Just my $.02.

LawBob

Hey everyone, the new guy around here, so I was wondering has anyone put any thought or effort in converting the max11/15 to run a dedicated 22lr barrel and BCG?

https://www.righttobear.com/rtb-dedicated-22-bolt-and-3-mag-kit-25-round/

RTB makes a barrel and BCG that doesn’t use a gas system or recoil spring from an AR platform, and is direct blowback like any typical semi auto pistol. I wonder how hard it would be to create a BCG that could operate in it. I have no design experience except limited amateur rendering for my 3d printer.

Atchinson style conversions are blow back. You can use a dedicated 22 barrel with a non-adapter bcg, or use a cmmg that has the chamber converter.

The problem is these are closed bolt systems you want to convert to open bolt with what would have to be a fixed firing pin (which creates hazardous potential), or mechanically load the cartridge and then when chambered release a firing pin (with no hammer).