Is this one of "those" HK MGs?

secondofangle

I'm relatively new to this, but following auctions and listings to get a sense of prices/trends and found this:

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/931968755

Looks to me like it's one of those few registered receivers (seller stated on the phone that yes, it's a RR) but rather than a DPP, it's got a semi auto shelf/and trigger pack/frame, which means it also must a proprietary sear that is married to the RR. Is that correct?

mattnh

UZI Talk Life Member
There are actually a lot of RRs with a shelf rather than PP.
There is some sort of unregistered conversion device in the pack.
Either a sear or the pack may have been cut for the shelf.
Regardless, sounds like it is married to the RR.

A&S Conversions

UZI Talk Life Member
Your money, your choice, but I would never want to purchase an unmodified semi auto receiver converted with an unregistered sear. As with today, the "maker" of NFA items are not checked by the ATF. The "maker" is supposed to know the regulations andhave modified the receiver properly. The original manufacturer worked out with the BATF&E the configuration of a machinegun and semi auto receivers. Back in the day it was difficult for manufacturers to get the full auto parts from HK for receiver conversion. This is a cop-out IMO. The manufacturers could have machined off the semi shelf, drilled the push pin hole, weld in the push pin ears on the grip housing, and welded up the semi auto notch in the trigger frame. But they didn't bother. Instead they made an improper registered receiver conversion with an unregistered conversion device (auto sear).