Question and clarification about MAC's tax stamp(s)

Pmergler

Noob to this forum and looking to get into the MAC MG game :twoguns

I am by no means an NFA expert and have no prior class 3 experience. I do have a suppressor so I am familiar with the NFA tax stamp process. Additionally, I have fairly good knowledge of the SBR laws (mostly as it is applicable to AR platform). I tried to use the forum search + google search and I have found no where that I could get a clarification of this.

For a "standard" MAC M10/11/11A1 FA with the wireframe collapsible, folding stock, can someone clarify if that is a 1 tax stamp or 2 stamp gun? I see that most people seem to refer to this "standard config." as a 1 stamp gun. Then only with a suppressor is it a 2 stamp gun.

I assume the 1 stamp on the standard config covers the FA-MG aspect. So does that mean with a 1 stamp NFA MG you no longer have to worry about the whole SBR aspects and you can put any "stock" on it (like the Lage collapsible, Lage foldable, etc.) and any fore-grip (AFG or VFG) without issue?

mattnh

UZI Talk Life Member
Correct - MG status trumps SBR status
A MG can also have any characteristic of a SBR
(Barrel length, stock, foregrip, OAL)

Pmergler

Correct - MG status trumps SBR status
A MG can also have any characteristic of a SBR
(Barrel length, stock, foregrip, OAL)

awesome, thank you Matt. So it is like getting a golden ticket :)

A&S Conversions

UZI Talk Life Member