Sten parts replacement

Battering ram NIB

UZI Talk Supporter,
Took my sten apart tonight and inspected everything

My main spring was 11/2 shorter- replaced with new
My sheet metal sear was worn- replaced with milled
Trigger spring was stretched a bit- replaced it w new
Teeth worn on part that clicks into barrel nut- replaced it

I’m new to the sten. How often do these parts need replacing ?

Shocking how worn the sear was. I figure poorly hardened

Trigger is improved with new spring. Still feels junky but smoother now

rentprop1

stenparts used to sell a replacement spring pak kit, about $20....I bought one when I built our first post sample, I put all the original springs in it because thats what I had in the kit at the time....... 8-10 K rounds later and still running with the original springs, the replacement pak will be a back up

Battering ram NIB

UZI Talk Supporter,
the sten trigger spring wasn't horrible, but was not all even and nice. The gun is minty and id be surprised if it had more than a 1000 rounds through it. Who knows in 1986-1990 what was available for the sten. maybe they only had used springs and picked out the best they had

my sten is a shorty stemple version. its about 1 1/2"-2" shorter, so its going to pound the main spring much more...I ordered 4 more springs last night.

do you run a sheet metal sear or the milled one? interesting they made a sheet metal version. My sear was heavily worn (still worked). Maybe 1/8" gone

Villafuego

UZI Talk Supporter
The only part I've ever had to replace was the small funky spring that connected the trigger spring to the sear spring.......the tip snapped off.....

Weso

Took my sten apart tonight and inspected everything

My main spring was 11/2 shorter- replaced with new
My sheet metal sear was worn- replaced with milled
Trigger spring was stretched a bit- replaced it w new
Teeth worn on part that clicks into barrel nut- replaced it

I’m new to the sten. How often do these parts need replacing ?