Suppressors

MuzzleFlash

UZI Talk Life Member
There's lots of miscellaneous posts about suppressors on UZI Talk, but it's sort of spread out all over the place. I'd like to get people's experiences with different cans and perhaps the good, bad & ugly. Maybe even get a good discussion going.

I'm still a novice in this area but hope to get up to speed rapidly:)

So here's a few questions/topics to get things going:

1. What kind of suppressors have you used?
2. Any you've heard to avoid?
3. How do you go about cleaning?
4. For reloaders, any clean powders to recommend for use with cans? Subsonic recipes?
5. Cycling problems b/c of blowback changes?
6. Aluminum vs steel vs exotics (like Titanium)?
7. How many rounds can you shoot before a cool down is needed?
8. Use of grease, water or other materials to enhance suppression.
9. How many rounds can I realisticly expect before needing a rebuild?
10. What are the best technical references you've seen on the subject?
11. Suppressors on open bolt vs delayed blowback or closed bolt firearms: Is one design better for overall suppression or clean propellant burn?
12. Larger caliber = less suppression?
13. Integral vs detachable, pros & cons
14. Recoil reducers/compensators. Do they work? Why are they needed?
15. Why suppress supersonic fire?
16. ROF change on F/A guns with suppressor attached?

UZI SBR AWC

MuzzleFlash said:
1. What kind of suppressors have you used?----- AWC MK9, fella had 1, I heard it, decided I had to have 1. Have heard a Gemtech MK9K on a MP-5 (Rick Hill from Subguns.com), sounds like my MK9, not sure whose ammo he was using, but maybe similar sound.

2. Any you've heard to avoid? ---- SDS & Ceiner

3. How do you go about cleaning?--- AWC MK9 comes apart, book says to just blow air into it.