Can you make tracers?

dannyk45

UZI Talk Supporter
Before I start if this is illegal tell me, delet my post etc. I saw a book at the gun show how to make tracers I did not buy it. Can you make these safely and easily?

amphibian

UZI Talk Life Member
"Ted in Tallahassee" posted on Subguns a few years back about this.
He was able to do it. He even wrote up documentation about it. I downloaded it but never tried it. It looked like a lot of work to me...but everything is relative.
I don't think it was easy. I think I recall it taking some trial and error for Ted as well. I don't think it was illegal to do but I'm no expert on that either.
Maybe post a WTK on subguns paging Ted.

SHURESHOT

UZI Talk Supporter
you can buy tracer bullets and make you own that way they are cheaper than ball in 30 cal. It is illegal to shoot them on National Forest land in Az. I know a few guys who got $75 tickets, guess it is only if you get a cop who is a prick... he could have said no tracers and that would have been that (maybe the quota was low that day):laugh

dannyk45

UZI Talk Supporter
Patriot said:
Yes I can make tracers. No, I don't make tracers. Too much work, and I don't like starting fires at the range.

How's it done?

Brian Ski

UZI Talk Life Member
dannyk45 said:
How's it done?

Well for the short, how to list.... It is not a very easy undertaking... I read about it a while back because I was interested in doing it myself....

Lets start with you need to have a reloading setup.... Then you need to take some bullets with a lead base... Either a FMJ or lead bullet with an exposed lead base... You need to slightly hollow out the base to make room for the chemical mixture... (without make the bullet out of balance)