Need Help Parts Shopping for 11.5 in. Project

Sayeret Shaldag

UZI Talk Supporter
Guys,

Yesterday I decided to build myself an AR. I was committed to spending some 1600-1700 (taxes included) on a 11.5 in. Colt LE6933 Commando, but with all the products available on the market now and all these posts concerning AR builds I have reconsidered. I also have accepted that with a Colt a lot of that premium is for the Pony and has nothing to do with quality.

What I would like to have is a short barreled AR worthy of a place in the Delta Forces' Armory. The direction I can provide is as follows:

I would like to keep all the furniture tangodown, vltor, or magpul tan as that is my personal taste. I want the best components where it matters.

As much as possible I would like to use the same components that Delta armorers would be using on their operators rifles. As for rails AFAIK the only issue brands are Knights, ARMS, and PRI. I could be wrong as I am a novice compared to you all.

Can you all help me put together the shopping list to build this thing?

Should I go with a free float rail system and does that matter with a 11.5 in. bbl.? Should I have one of the newer gas block systems without the attached front sight so I could mount a folding front sight?

As this is an 11.5 inch bbl. project how does this work with regard to legalities in a trust? What gets engraved the upper or lower? Can I already purchase the 11.5 in. bbl.?

What brand of bbl. will I need as this will be a rifle intended for CQB? Will a Krieger or Noveske bbl. be what is needed even considering the 11.5 in. length?

I would like to start ordering today and I guess my starting budget optics not included would be somewhere around $800-$1000. Will this be enough?

Guys, I am counting on your advice. I don't go to ARF.com or whatever it is called as I believe we have the finest talent right here and I feel at home.

Last edited:

subgunner

An SBR AR15 would be papered and marked on the lower.